Volunteers Strongly Needed to Help Elementary Students

 HIVE

Have you heard the buzz about the HIVE?

Volunteers are strongly needed to read to Muncie elementary students and/or help with math skills.

The HIVE is a reading- and math-oriented help center at Maring-Hunt Library for elementary students.

Youth Services staff at the Library coordinate weekly appointments between volunteers and students needing help at Maring-Hunt Library. Students bring their homework or come to the library to get extra help practicing math or reading by listening to stories read aloud or reading aloud to volunteers.

Any interested adult with at least a high school diploma who works well with children and is willing to complete a required background check will be considered.

Current/former teachers, education students, or those with some experience with children preferred. We have a waiting list of students seeking help, so please contact us right away  at 741-5150 or stop by Maring-Hunt Library to pick up a volunteer application. 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Library News

5 Comments on “Volunteers Strongly Needed to Help Elementary Students”

  1. April N Highley Says:

    I would LOVE to voluneer for this opportunity! Iam great with kids, graduated Yorktown Highschool this pas year (2008) and I wish i would have had an opportunity like this as a kid. Please accept my ooffer to be a tutor for the children who apply!My telephone nuber is ###-#### and I live right across the street at the YWCA. Thank you for your time!!!

  2. Joni Hammond Says:

    Are there any opportunities for volunteerism at the Kennedy Branch?

  3. Rebecca Fulton Says:

    I would love to volunteer. I’m a Ball State student currently doing student teaching at Sutton Elementary. Please let me know how I can help kids.


  4. I love working with kids. I have 7 grandkids and my favorite thing to do is to read to them. I would be able to volunteer at Carneigh or Maring-Hunt.


  5. I would like to volunteer!!! Let me know the process that has to be completed please!?

    Thank You!

    -Darrell Balfour


Leave a Reply

